A Writing Journey

When I Write

When I write, I love silence. I love rainy, or at least cloudy days. I love a cup of tea on the radiator beside my desk. I love my cats snoring as they sleep. When I am writing, everything is peaceful.

I know a lot of aspiring writers who can’t write without music, or write the best when they are traveling, or any number of little quirks. I suppose writing in the quiet is my own quirk. I love the morning for this, because so much of the world is still asleep, or at least wanting to still be asleep. It leaves a stillness all around, one that I soak up and use to write.

When I write, when I really write, the world disappears for a while and I see only what is in my head.

Sometimes, the people around me, be they family or friends, get irritated with my need for stillness. I can’t explain why I need it, only that I do. Sometimes I wonder if it is because I think too much – because my head is always spinning off on another tangent of thought. Other times, I know it’s because I am an introvert, and the silence is just something that is good for me. It can be a wild ride, to need to write, but be unable to focus because of everything happening around me. Sometimes it really irritates me and puts me in a foul mood. Other times I think, “oh well, I guess I’m not going to write right now,” and I do something else.

I suppose this has been a bit of a ramble. But this morning it is still and I was inspired to write about the stillness.

Take care, fellow travelers.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

