A Writing Journey

Synopsis Practice

Hello, everyone! Yesterday I began writing synopses for my story. One thing that I can say for certain is that I am NOT very good at it. See, I have a problem of giving away spoilers when I try to tell people about ANY book, let alone my own. So this is going to take a lot more practice. Without further ado, my first attempt:

All Lacey Wentwether wants is a simple life. She has struggled to find her place as the apprentice to the High Cartographer of the Ibvailyn Empire, and she wants to keep that place. But when her master is summoned to a not-so-secret council, her dreams of a simple life are swept aside. An evil spirit has been released into the magic of the world and the only person who knows anything about the spirit is a mysterious Seer that refuses to share anything. Lacey and her master set sail for a place no one is sure even exists and Lacey is thrown into a battle for survival with the Prince and his guard at her side.

What do you think I can do better? Have you written synopses for your books? Let me know!

Comments on: "Synopsis Practice" (4)

  1. With synopses, you do have to tell whoever it is for everything, including spoilers. But what you have is a summary or a blurb. A synopsis is a totally different thing. A synopsis unveils the barest bones of the book while telling the one reading it all the major plot points. How detailed you’re allowed to get with those points is contingent on the world limit. The word limit for my contracted manuscript was 500, so talk about some very bare bones, but it revealed to the publisher that the book wasn’t struggling too much in regards to story. In any case, I think B.P. Crouse did a good job of making your blurb concise. It has my attention!

    • Thank you for the clarification about synopses vs. summaries/blurbs. I have heard them both refer to the same thing and assumed they were one in the same (I should really stop assuming things). Thanks again!

  2. I also struggle with these things. I seem to put so much effort on figuring out a hook without giving it all away. Anyway I hope it isn’t to reaching but I put my spin on what you had.
    ~ Lacey Wentwether, apprentice to the High Cartographer of the Ibvailyn Empire, wants a secure life, but when her master is summoned to sail for a place no one is sure exists her dreams of safety are swept aside. Evil is manifesting in the Empire and a tight tongued Seer is the only person who might know how to stop it. Lacey and her master are thrown into an advenenture and the Empires survival hangs in the balance.

    • That is more intriguing, for sure. I appreciate you taking the time to rewrite it. It’s great to see how other people would write the same thing. I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who struggles with synopses!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

