A Writing Journey

Thursday Inspiration

Well I’ve had a slow week for writing so far. I hope to turn that around today and get at least half of a chapter written. As such, here is a piece of inspiration for anyone struggling, or just feeling lazy (like me):

When I have a slow day, I hate coming across advice like this, but it’s true. I can tell myself “write one page,” but the scene is never done at the end of the page. I have to keep going until the scene is done, and often by then I don’t want to stop anyway.

So just start writing. It doesn’t matter if it’s bad or choppy at the beginning of a session – that’s what editing is for. The important thing is to get it out of your mind and onto the page. I can’t tell you how many quotes I’ve come across saying that you can’t edit what you haven’t written. So write. Write and don’t worry about anything.

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Thursday Inspiration" (2)

  1. Maggie said:

    This is so true. When it comes to writing, I procrastinate and procrastinate… and finally force the first paragraph or the first page down, then everything starts to flow. I guess it does stem from a fear that the writing will be bad… but you’re right — don’t worry about it. 🙂

    • The first couple paragraphs of a writing session are always the hardest. Avoiding procrastination is part of why I write everything down on paper before typing – I’m away from my computer so there is no internet to distract me. 🙂 But yes, the important thing is not to worry about it and write.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

