A Writing Journey

Outline Update

A couple weeks ago I wrote about outlining to prevent writer’s block. I can now say that this does not work for me. I have my outline and I love it, but it’s not the path of the story that is what trips me up, it’s all the little things that take place along the way. I know my characters are going to argue, and what they are going to argue about, yet when I get to writing it, I can’t think.

Now this isn’t to say that I am never going to outline again, I actually really like having the whole shape of the story written down. I like knowing what my characters are going to do (of course they always surprise me when they do something different, and I like knowing all the things that are going to happen. But outlining isn’t going to be the way I beat writer’s block.

Or maybe it’s just laziness that I am terming writer’s block. Sometimes I can’t tell the difference. Either way, I’ve still only got a few chapters of the sequel. But it’s better than nothing!

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Outline Update" (1)

  1. Outlines sometimes work for certain stories, but they don’t work for others. It could just be that this particular story doesn’t lend itself well to an outline.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

