A Writing Journey

I haven’t been editing Quest for Salvation

Phew, now that that confession is out there, let me tell you why. I love the story, I love the characters, and I love the world – but sometimes it can be overwhelming. Having finished another round of edits, I’ve found the amount of work I still have to do exhausting. My MC still needs more work to make her a worthwhile character, my plot needs to be tightened up a bit more, especially at the beginning (I’ve planned another rewrite of the first couple of chapters) and of course there is all of the editing for rhythm and pacing and phrasing. In short: I stopped before I got burnt out from writing all together.

I have been working on this world (almost exclusively) for four years. More than once I’ve had to set it aside (swearing that I would never come back to it because it’s a worthless idea) and I am NOT going to go through that again. I’ve learned when to let it rest. I sent the draft I have to some readers, and hopefully their input will get me ready to work on it again.

But what am I doing in the meantime? Well, I’m still writing. My new project is a YA novel* that has roots in a story I wrote with a friend in high school (though what those roots are is hard to say – there are no recognizable elements of that story in this one now).

This has been my strategy for a long time: When writing one story becomes forced, I jump to another. That way the creative juices are still flowing, but I get to completely change my point of view, tone, characters, and setting. It gets me out of the writing slumps.

How do you prevent getting burnt out? Do you have strategies to keep from getting frustrated with your work?

Take care, fellow travelers.

* I’ll be writing more about this project in posts to come, though I hope to pick back up on my series on Ibvailyn Culture soon.

Comments on: "When the Going Gets Tough" (2)

  1. To keep from getting burnt out, I take a break of perhaps a day or so. Or even a break for an hour, just to do something else besides writing. When you come back to it, you might find that you have a way out of your frustration or a way to work around it.

    • I like to take breaks like that too. Typically I give myself the weekend as a break. For the short breaks, I HAVE to get away from the computer, otherwise I don’t feel like I’ve had a break at all.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

