A Writing Journey

Music inspires me more than anything else. The first time I realized this was in high school. I was listening to Evanescence non-stop and writing a joint-story with one of my best friends. The music shaped the story and made it into what it was (which, admittedly, could have been better). Even now, I have a hard time listening to certain songs by Evanescence without remembering those characters and scenes. The one that will forever be the song of Elyza (the character that I was in charge of) is My Immortal.

As my writing developed, I kept playlists for my stories (as many writers do). The artists included in these posts ranges from Breaking Benjamin to Enya and beyond. My tastes in music are eclectic, though it doesn’t always appear that way.

I believe that music speaks to the soul in a way that few other things can. Not many writers have the ability to craft a story and it’s characters well enough to compete with music (though I love books all the same).

For a sample of the music I listen to for inspiration follow this link to a playlist I have on 8tracks.

Does music inspire you? Which artists/songs/genres?

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Friday Inspiration – Music" (4)

  1. Music is one of my biggest inspirations. Like you, I was inspired by Evanescence a lot in high school (and that band still inspires me to this day). I also listen to different varieties of music and can always find something in some genre to be inspired by! 🙂

    • I just LOVE Evanescence. Lately I’ve been inspired by dramatic instrumental music and all that Celtic Woman type of music. Listening to different types of music to get inspired is great – I do the same!

  2. I can’t pass this one up 😀
    I really didn’t get into music and writing until college. Yet, when I was a kid, I remember the Goo Goo Dolls fueled most of my early fanfiction writing. To this day it seems when i’m not inspired by post rock, ambient, or classical, i’m inspired by Irish rock bands of all genres. Can’t explain why.

    • There doesn’t have to be an explanation – if it inspires then it inspires. 🙂 I love Wolfstone and Flogging Molly. Honestly, I haven’t met a genre of music that hasn’t given me at least ONE song to be inspired by.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

