A Writing Journey

Encouragement

In May, I sent my latest draft of Quest for Salvation to some of my best friends. I knew that it would take a while for them to get to it since most of them were finishing up classes or busy with work, so I didn’t really expect to hear back about it until the end of summer. But to my surprise, one of my best friends finished reading it and she said that she loved it and thinks it would definitely sell!

Needless to say, this is very encouraging! She isn’t a writer and she doesn’t read very much fantasy, so to get this kind of feedback is great! Feedback from non-writers can be some of the most valuable. Readers can tell you a lot more about the flow of the story, and if those things you think are holes are really holes, and if the story makes sense on a whole. Feedback from writers is great, don’t get me wrong, but hearing from an average reader can really point you in the right direction, or give you encouragement that no, your story isn’t falling apart around chapter ten.

As of right now, I am a little under half-way through draft five. I’m to a point that requires more re-writing, so it’s a little bit slower going, but I still think that I can finish by the end of July. When that is finished I will be stepping into the realm of querying, which I am already starting to work on. Wish me luck!

Take care, fellow travelers.

How are your projects going? Do you think feedback from non-writers is helpful?

Comments on: "Encouragement" (4)

  1. The last time I gave my work to a friend to read, they never read it. My boyfriend reads my work though, and he is very helpful. He is trying to keep me motivated to finish my book. Non-writers are also very good for helping you to stay on-track. 🙂

    • Yes, unfortunately a lot of my friends haven’t read my work either. 😦 Still, the feedback I do get is incredibly helpful! Motivation is key – as you mention. Good luck!

  2. Feedback from non-writers is definitely helpful. They can give you a very honest opinion on whether something works or doesn’t work… especially if they read a lot. And readers tend to be very savvy about those kinds of things. But if you give your book to someone who isn’t a reader, their opinion might not give you the kind of feedback you’re looking for.

    • That’s very true. I gave my manuscript to lots of readers (of all genres). And I figure even people who don’t read very much still have valuable opinions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

