A Writing Journey

I read a lot of articles and blog posts that bash prologues. Sometimes, they have really good points, other times the points are off the mark. For my part, I think liking and disliking prologues is akin to liking or disliking apples – some people like them and some people don’t. I like them sometimes. I’ve read really awful prologues, and I’ve read really amazing prologues. I think the skill of the writer has as much to do with it as the opinions of the reader. I sometimes write prologues, and sometimes don’t (sort of like how I sometimes like them). For Quest for Salvation, I have a short prologue. Let me know what you think about it, even if you’re in the anti-prologue camp. I always love to hear what you think!

    My life is coming to a close. I can feel it creeping in on me, the way dawn creeps upon the horizon. In my heart I know that this death comes too early, but I don’t know what I could have done to prevent it. I stand by the actions that brought me here. I cannot imagine having done anything differently. Leaving all of those people to suffer would have killed me even sooner.

    I’ve faced death a hundred times, and still I fear to die. Even when I thought I had nothing to live for, I refused to give in. Maybe, if I am lucky, this death will not be so horrible. If I am lucky, some piece of me will be reunited with my love. If I am lucky, all that I have done will be remembered by someone. Anyone.

    That is why I’ve set my mark here, why I am writing all of this now, after so much time. I’ve tried before, and failed, but this time I must finish. I do not want to be forgotten.

    Listen to me, rambling on about being forgotten. No one will ever find this record, at least no one that can read it. But maybe, someday, it will be in the Book, and in the Book I will live on.

    Mother Anja give me strength this last time, to set down my words for eyes to read.

    My quiet life took on a new path one day in early summer. It was the day my fate was sealed, in an ancient city at the base of a mountain.

Again, let me know what you think!

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Quest for Salvation – Prologue" (16)

  1. Emily, I really did enjoy your prologue. It was short and quite thought provoking. I know this was done a year ago, and I’m just now getting to read it. You read my tidbit about Prologues. I’d have to say you grabbed my attention and I love your style. I want to know more about this character, the time period it’s written, and the history behind this. Another interesting thing you did was not give us any details about what the character looked like. It could easily be a girl, a boy, a young man, an young woman. It could be an elder man or woman. You leave it open, allowing our imaginations to figure it out. I applaud you for that too. Whether intentional or not, I think it’s cool.

  2. I like your prologue and given that the book you’re writing seems to be an account of something that has already happened (by the person that it happened to) instead of a series of events that happen as they are written, I feel like it’s extremely fitting and appropriate. I also have a prologue for my current project for the same reason. It’s supposed to be a written account, like the narrator is reflecting on the events of her life in memoir form.

    • That is exactly the purpose of my prologue. I’m glad you liked it! The “reflection on past events” is my favorite reason for a prologue. 🙂
      Take care.

  3. Celeste said:

    I love it and I am pro-prologue. It is beautifully written. Well done!

  4. I’ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award because I find your blog thought-provoking and inspiring.

    If you choose to accept, here’s what you need to do:
    1. Display the Award Certificate on your blog.
    2. Announce your win with a post. Make sure to post a link back to me as a ‘thank you’ for the nomination.
    3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers.
    4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you have linked them in the post.
    5. Post 7 interesting things about yourself.

    Rule #6, whether you accept or not, is to keep being awesome. ❤

  5. Short and enticing. I like it. I use prologues in my novels because they’re the best place to do scenes with villains and the gods of my world. It sets the stage that the heroes are about to walk into and lets me flush those other characters out. Makes a great platform for foreshadowing too.

    • Thanks! I always prefer prologues that are shorter than chapters andgive some foreshadowing. I didn’t mention this in the post, but I think different stories have different needs for their prologue (if they need a prologue at all). For your stories you said they are a good place for your villains and gods. I tried that in my early drafts, and decided that my villain didn’t need that time to be introduced. It’s very important to keep the feel of the prologue consistent with the feel of the rest of the book and my villain-prologue just didn’t do that.
      I’m glad you liked it!
      Take care,
      Emily

      • I do character driven present tense, so the scenes work for my style. So, you do have a great point that it depends on the author and the style they’re going for.

        • Absolutely. And as for the readers, we can’t make them all happy. I know I’ve read books that I can’t stand but other people love. It all comes down to personal opinion. So I’m not to concerned if writing a prologue is a writing sin or not. I’ll do it if it goes and if it doesn’t I won’t. 🙂

          • It’s always strange to hear people say something is a sin in writing. Most times it’s preference.

          • You are absolutely correct. Most times if someone calls something in writing a sin, I stop listening. I really don’t think there is a right or wrong way to do things in writing – someone will probably like it no matter what.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

