A Writing Journey

Voice

Voice is something that is incredibly important in writing. Whether we write fiction or non-fiction, voice is what defines our writing.

Now, I have always had a hard time developing a compelling voice. My natural writing voice is analytical and very blunt.* My voice did well throughout college and became more set-in-stone and I am good at it. But this isn’t the best voice for writing fiction. Readers want some level of mystery, and a blunt analysis of the plot provides no mystery. My first couple of drafts were written in my natural voice and my main characters knew pretty much everything that I did fairly early in the story. As I redrafted, I focused on shaping a second voice – my Fiction Voice.

Well, my Fiction Voice was definitely a step in the right direction, but it felt aloof. Quest for Salvation is in the first person, and this new voice felt more third-person than anything else. That would be great, if I were writing that way. But I’m not and so I had to continue to develop my MC’s voice.

Lacey, my protagonist and narrator for Quest for Salvation, has a voice that is so much different from mine that it is sometimes a struggle to keep writing her way. I would never be able to write in her voice if I didn’t know her as well as I do, and yet sometimes I still think I have to know her better. After all, I have to know her better than myself, or my own voice will bleed into hers. Keeping in her voice was the hardest part of draft five, and I am sure there are places that still sound a little bit more like me than her.

Practice is what has gotten me to this point, and practice is what will carry me forward in my journey to keeping in character-voice. It’s a struggle, but it’s worth it.

How many voices do you have? How do you develop those voices?

Take care, fellow travelers.

*Maybe that’s because, as an introvert, I despise small-talk and prefer to get right to the point, leaving all the fluff behind.

Comments on: "Voice" (4)

  1. I’m not sure. It’s hard to write a character that’s completely different from you, in a serious vein. in a comic vein, it’s much easier. It reminds me of acting – it’s a similar process.

    • Very true! Writing characters is a lot like acting. It’s not impossible to write a character that is completely different from you, but it takes more concentration and more revision.
      Take care,
      Emily

  2. I am still struggling to find my writing voice. I think that with every new story, that voice is slightly different. (Or even very different) But it still can be hard to keep it consistent within that one work.

    • It can be difficult to find your voice. You are right, it can be different for different stories and that can make the task even harder. I struggle writing in the character’s voice because it is so different from mine. And although style and voice are frequently used to mean the same thing, I think there I’d a difference. Style, for me, gets down to the flow ofthe writing while voice has more todo with the words that are used, or particular phrasings. Maybe that’s still the same, but I just can’t see it that way.
      Take care,
      Emily

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

