A Writing Journey

My Reading Habits

Reading is one of the most important skills a person can have. It can be challenging,  exciting,  enlightening,  and engaging.  I love stories and I love words, so naturally I love to read.

But I have a problem.  Since I was a kid and first discovered fantasy,  that has been almost the only genre I’ve read.  Sure,  in college I read (and found I didn’t hate) non-fiction, but I still have to give myself to read it for leisure.  If leisure is the right word.  I suppose not.  If I’m reading non-fiction,  it’s because I want to learn something.

In order to remedy this problem,  I downloaded the kindle app for my phone. Me. I hate ereaders. But I did it. And,  last weekend I devoted two books ( if less than stellar quality – they were free after all) in a genre I swore is never touch.  Yes.  Romance.

I vine just thinking about it.  And yet, exploring genes,  I feel,  is part of being a writer. We’ve got to be aware of what’s out there,  of the style and flow of each genre. If we don’t, I don’t think we can reach our full potential.

Beyond that,  as reader I don’t think it matters what we read so long as we do read.  I’m not going to shame someone for reading a genre I don’t like,  just as I won’t shame someobe for writing that genre. The point is to read,  to enjoy language and hopefully learn something.

So I read outside my genre. I don’t know where I’ll go from here. If you have any suggestions let me know,  but for now I’ll be sticking to the free kindle books. 🙂

Take care,  fellow travelers.

Comments on: "My Reading Habits" (2)

  1. I’ve read extensively, both in- and outside of my preferred genre for writing. After a few years where reading became difficult, I’m back into the swing of it since the beginning of 2013. I am reading a lot of ‘new’ fantasy. I have vowed to read at least one book a month outside that genre ánd one indie book a month. To keep track of what I read: Goodreads is my friend 😀

    • It’s definitely good to read multiple genres. I applaud you for having set yourself monthly goals! I agree, Goodreads is wonderful. 🙂
      Take care,
      Emily

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

