A Writing Journey

Those Productive Days

What to do with all my time? I was write, when I guessed that moving to a new place was going to give me lots of free time, and that I would use that time to read and write. In the two weeks and one day that I have been in my own apartment, I have read four books, edited six chapters, recorded readings of three of those edited chapters, written two chapters of my next novel, and written numerous scenes/plot summaries/outlines for various other novels (all set in my same world).  Whew! And that was in the midst of moving in, getting settled, and starting training for my new job! Looking back on these two weeks, I feel pretty proud at how much I’ve accomplished.

This last weekend, in particular, was especially fruitful. On Friday I got my new library card and read “Daughter of the Forest” cover to cover in the span of two and a half days (yes, I have to do other things like cook and clean – otherwise it might have been one and a half!). After I finished that on Sunday morning, I set to work on the sequel to Quest for Salvation (which at this point I am calling Scourge of the Daiyen). I was part way through chapter four the last time I stopped work on it, and that was about three months ago. Now I am at the beginning of chapter six! I have to say, I’m really excited!

Now I have two more books to read (in addition to all those unread books that I actually own) and I can’t wait to get back to my writing. I know where this story is going – not just this novel, but the one that comes after it and I have a rough idea of how my others stories that take place in this world are going to play out.

I know I can’t keep this up forever. I know, that sooner or later I am going to have another minor freakout about my writing. I know that I will have to take a break from my voracious reading. I know that I will have to set aside my novel and do something else for a few days.

But I also know that every word I write gets me closer to where I want to be – on the shelves of a bookstore, on the shelves of dear readers, spreading the story that speaks to my soul. Every word I read helps me learn more about myself and helps me develop my own voice. Even when I have to take a break, I know I will come back. I always do.

Have you had any productive days lately? What books have you been reading? How are your projects (whether they are books, paintings, or fixing that leaky gutter) coming along?

Take care, fellow travelers!

Comments on: "Those Productive Days" (4)

  1. Yay for productivity! Good to hear you’re settling in so well. Any news yet on Quest for Salvation?

  2. All the best for continued productivity!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet Creations By Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items and Gifts

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

