A Writing Journey

As much as I will deny it, I was a child once. And I wasn’t always a responsible child. I would wriggle out of doing my homework and go play outside, falling into a world of my own imagining. This world was not a solitary one. The neighbor kids were there with me and we built upon the worlds we’d established. Yes, that bush was the dungeon and over there, by that tree was where we had our sword lessons. And “Mom, that’s not a bike, it’s a horse!”

Such was my childhood, imagining worlds that were as real as anything else (for truly, a child’s imagination brings everything to life and makes it as real as, well, reality). Even inside, my imagination wouldn’t stop. My bunk-beds were the narrow bunks on a ship. My stuffed animals were fierce protectors of the realm.

I think, for me, writing was a way to channel my imagination as I grew out of the age at which such play is acceptable. As we grow up, we are told to put away childish things, to prepare for the real-world and face it head-on. I disagree. I believe that the creativity children express should be cherished and encouraged. We should be telling them to hold onto that, because the real-world can be a hard place and everyone needs a little comfort of imagination – why else would we flock to fiction? Not because it teaches (for although I believe that most firmly, there are many who disagree and treat books as an escape rather than an opportunity to grow).

The games we played as children don’t go away, anyway. We may say they do, but we’re all children at heart – or at least there is our self as a child in our heart. Don’t trap that child. Let the creativity flourish, let yourself dream up different worlds full of wonder and worry. Tell yourself a story, and then share it with someone else. Humans are born to tell stories. Don’t let society tell us otherwise.

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "The Creative Mind of a Child" (8)

  1. Well said. πŸ™‚

  2. Love this post because it’s so true. I think retaining part of one’s child-like imagination can be a big help in any field. When I did office work, I saw so many people battering at the same problem with pure logic and seriousness. The ones that solved the problem were the ones with enough imagination to think beyond the straight path. Maybe business retreats should be all about running around a forest with toy swords and battling ‘dragons’ instead of falling backwards.

    • I believe you are right. Creativity can help in many fields, if people are willing to try it. I think that is a great idea for retreats! I might have to suggest it. πŸ™‚

  3. EXACTLY my point – Humans are born to tell stories πŸ™‚

    • I agree! Have you read the book “The Storytelling Animal” by Jonathan Gottschall? It is all about how we are born to tell stories!

      • No I haven’t but the review comments make it seem very interesting Emily, I may well get a copy. I’m currently reading The Incredible Human Journey by Prof. Alice Roberts which, so far, deals purely with the physical evolution aspect, but I’m still in the early chapters.

        Funnily enough, if you go to my blog you’ll find an article today which starts, Uncle Chris is indisposed – click on the link given at the end of it and go to my article post in PIA, it concerns how the first ever thought may have happened πŸ™‚

        • That sounds like an awesome book too! I will have to add it to my list. That and your post in PIA remind me of my college class Physical Anthropology. It was all about human evolution and the spread of people and why we are the way we are. This subject is immensely fascinating!
          Take care Chris!
          -Emily

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

