A Writing Journey

Inside Your Head

I love this quote, because there is no questioning the truth of it. A writer is constantly “writing,” even if they don’t have a pen or pencil or keyboard. I constantly am thinking about my stories and writing and revising in my mind. Sure, those mind-compositions don’t always make it to the page, but the point is that I am using my mind, even when I am not physically writing.

I think that most (if not all) writers do this. If we don’t, our stories are flat, boring even. We have to think about them nearly every moment of every day until something clicks and the whole story falls into place. Have you ever experienced that? During one of my revisions of QFS, I realized that my minor villain did not, in fact, know everything about the major villain and was not working with her. The minor villain had a fascinating back-story of his own that shapes every action he takes – and I never would have realized it had I not spent so much time thinking about my story.

So keep thinking, keep imagining, keep writing!

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Inside Your Head" (4)

  1. Words of wisdom! I think that, as counter-intuitive as it sounds, more progress is made on a story while not writing it than actually sitting down and recording words.

  2. I do that every morning. It helps clear up what I’m going to write for the day.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

