A Writing Journey

Another flash fiction! I had fun writing this one, and at a friend’s challenge I tried to keep it more upbeat. (Tried being the key word there.) This one is three hundred words, and the prompt was “I know this sounds crazy, but…”

Sit back, relax, and enjoy!

“I know this sounds crazy, but I’m psychic. For real. I know they’ve got all those shows about people pretending to be psychic but’re really just observant and smart, but I’m seriously psychic. I knew when I woke up this morning that Jeanine Taylor wasn’t gonna be at school. And I knew that it was because her little brother’s in the hospital. And last year, on my sixteenth birthday, I knew Aunt Linnie was going to kick the bucket. (She did, and gol dang if Mom didn’t blame me because I said so. What else was I supposed to do?)

“I dunno if I can use this psychic-ness to help people or what. I mean, I couldn’t help Aunt Linnie or Jeanine Taylor’s little brother (he’ll be fine, by the way. It’s just appendicitis.) But there was that time that I knew Ben Croft was going to get hit by a bike and end up in a coma. He was standing just a few lockers down from me. I could have talked to him, kept him for even just a few seconds, but I didn’t. How could I know that I wouldn’t cause him to get run over by that kid? Because I never know if it’ll be good or bad. And it sucks sometimes because I know who’s gonna break up with who, and what Granny’s gonna get me for my birthday (it’s gonna be a pink button-down this year – pink!), but I never know if my actions can impact it one way or another.

“But I do know that tomorrow afternoon it’ll rain and Jeanine’s car is going to crash into the school bus. So you really gotta do something, or those kids might die.”

The cop stared at me like I was crazy. She was probably right.

Well, that’s that. Thoughts?

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Flash Fiction: I know this sounds crazy, but…" (2)

  1. Love the use of ‘gol dang’. Made me chuckle. Interesting how you touch on the difficulty of a character who can see the future, which most people don’t think of. I think a lot of authors make it a given that the actions of the psychic don’t effect the future they see, which makes no sense.

    • Thanks. I agree that many writers don’t explore the topic as fully as they could, which is unfortunate because there are so many possibilities! Thanks for reading.
      Take care,
      Emily

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

