A Writing Journey

Motivation

I mentioned, earlier this week, that I developed a strong work ethic in high school because I wanted more time to write. Had I not done this, I would not have done as well in college and I would not be doing as well as I am now. Writing itself takes a strong drive, strong work ethic. Many times I have heard “oh, I want to write a book but I just don’t have time,” or “I’ll write a book when I’m old!” People who say things like this are missing one very important factor: motivation.

Motivation is the key to getting a novel written. No amount of talent, no incredible idea, will help you if you don’t sit down and write. I admit, this is where I am right now – lacking motivation. It’s difficult to spend so much time on one project, especially when you’ve written and rewritten and edited so much. That is what separates writers and authors.

I don’t know if I will be an author. I don’t know if I can get my stories to the point where they can be published. And that kills my motivation. If nobody is going to pick my book up from the shelf, then what is the point of writing it in the first place?

My simple answer to that is to get it out of my head. But it doesn’t get out of my head. The more I work on it, the more it calls to me, the more it judges me for not working on it, the more I think about how to make it better.

How do you handle lack of motivation?

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Motivation" (2)

  1. I know exactly how you feel, about the doubt of whether or not you’ll be an author killing motivation. When it happens to me… I usually just tell myself that at this point, I have no choice but to write. There are at least a few people (family and friends, namely) who want to read my book, so I have to write it. It doesn’t make me feel any less doubtful, but at least it’s motivation.

  2. I nap and watch shows, read books, and watch movies that might inspire me. If that fails then I write randomly and see if I can jump start my motivation. There are times where it you have to march ahead even when unmotivated. It’s hard to keep that flame permanently lit.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

