A Writing Journey

Poetry Corner – Dragons

Welcome back to the Poetry Corner – I hope your week has treated you well. This poem I wrote on October 23. It has a fantasy flare, though I’m not sure that’s what I was thinking at the time. Let me know what you think!

Dragons flew in Ancient Times

Before our Stars were born

When darkness lay across the world

At the dawn of Morn.

Blood-songs were sung between the gods

And stirred up the hearts of Men

Of whom the Dragons ruled above

As master and not friend.

Glories streamed in their wake,

Song and dance and ballads sure,

To praise the mighty ones

And save children from their lure.

Upon an island of beast and man

The Dragons made their home.

The creatures there were hardier

And across the hills did roam.

But on the shore disaster lay –

A dragon-wing was shorn

And on the sand not far away

The Dragon ripped and torn.

That Dragon’s kin in grief did chase

Beast and man across the fen

For none could slay a dragon

And see the dawn again.

All the wonders were reclaimed

By the Dragons to ensure

That darkness fell across the land

From which there was no cure.

But foolish things the Dragons were –

They left behind a Tome

From which the Humans could divine

Beauty in the everlasting “ohm.”

Comments on: "Poetry Corner – Dragons" (3)

  1. Oh wow, this is awesome! I’ve always loved poems which tell a definitive story, and this one is fantastic. All the words you used create a beautiful atmosphere of magic and mystery. I love it, love it, love it! I can’t believe I didn’t see it till now.

    Anyways, I’ve got a poem of my own, case you want to read it. I wasn’t sure how exactly to express how I was feeling with this one and thus couldn’t come up with a satisfying way to expand it, but I hope that this poem a day challenge will help me with that:

    “When words I hear
    Are insincere
    A muteness I do aim for

    With thundering sound
    I swiftly drown
    The words which are my torture”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

