A Writing Journey

Hello, everyone. I hope you’ve all had a lovely week! Without further ado, here is today’s poem:

One good deed.

That’s all it takes

To change the world.

Not all at once –

Of course –

But step by gradual step.

With our empathy,

Our compassion,

Our courage

We bring light

Back to the downtrodden.

We bring hope

Back to the hopeless.

A gesture,

A smile,

A kind word

On a hellish day.

We say “no”

To anger and despair.

We choose

To make a difference.

We choose to light the way.

All it takes

Is one good deed.

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Poetry Corner – One Good Deed" (4)

  1. “A kind word/ On a hellish day” really resounded with me. I can think of all the hellish days I’ve had and those few times when someone would say something soft and gentle, maybe just ask if I was okay, and how much of a difference that made. Your poem has a wonderful message. One that is dear to my heart, and probably many other people as well 🙂

    Here’s mine:
    “The old sofa is out on the curb
    Full of mould and memories
    Its springs are broke
    Its fabric’s ripped
    That’s why we put it on the curb.

    If anybody needs a sofa
    There’s one out on the curb, for free
    It has a stain
    It smells funny
    But it’s there if anybody needs.”

    I’m really loving this poem-a-day idea. I’m starting to turn everything into poetry, even old couches I see out for the garbage 😛 Not all of it is good, but hey, that’s what improvement’s for 🙂

    • Thank you!
      I liked your poem as well. I understand what you are saying. Writing poetry every day is definitely opening up my mind and helping me achieve a different view of the world around me.
      Take care,
      Emily

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

