A Writing Journey

Poetry is Emotion

The title says it all, right? Over and over I come across little sayings (usually on Pinterest) about how poetry starts as a feeling, sometimes a lump in the throat or a tingly sensation or whatever you can imagine. I know that this is true for me. My best poetry comes not from thinking, but from feeling.

As such, I don’t often rewrite my poems. To me, rewriting poems, born from an intense emotion, is rewriting that emotion, saying that it did not exist that way, that I did not feel as strongly as the words suggest.

The truth is, I did feel that strongly. I wrote exactly what my feeling told me to write. Because of this, I don’t share a lot of my poems – I don’t invite just anyone into my world. But the writing is what helps. Putting those emotions on the page proves that yes, I feel them and yes, I feel other things as well. And so I do not rewrite my poetry (except for the occasional word-change when it isn’t precisely what I want, and that usually happens while I’m writing it down anyway).

What do you think about rewriting poetry? What do you think about poetry as emotion? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Take care, fellow travelers.

Comments on: "Poetry is Emotion" (6)

  1. jenniferkmarsh said:

    If you ask me, poetry is ALL feeling, and not at all thinking. Therefore, it’s hard to share a lot of the work because it is so personal to you. The vast majority of my poems haven’t been shared.
    I agree with the not rewriting thing too, although I am sometimes guilty of it! I think it might be because the first time round, I feel as though I didn’t get my feeling across properly. If that’s possible. But I often ‘polish’ my poems, as I like to call it; it’s not rewriting, but refining.

    Take care 🙂
    -Jennifer

    • I agree that most times poetry is feeling and not thinking – but I think that sometimes, just to get back in the groove of it, it can be thinking and not feeling. Or, it could stem from thinking and become feeling (if that makes sense to anyone but myself).
      A lot of my poems have not been shared either, and I’m not sure they will be. Though I dislike the idea that no one will see what I write but me…
      I like your idea of “polishing.” I think your polishing and my tweaking are about the same thing – but I like your word choice better. 🙂
      Take care,
      Emily

  2. I completely agree. When I write a poem, I usually keep it as is, because when I go back to it to revise it, I can’t bring up the original emotion I had when I wrote it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

