A Writing Journey

About Found Poetry

I like writing poetry. Sometimes when I’m in a writing slump or trying to work myself out of one,  poetry is what gets it done.

Unfortunately,  most of my poetry is melodramatic and annoying (even to me) because how much poetry I write is directly related to a worsening mood.  Don’t get me wrong,  I have a lot of poems that I’m really proud of,  but even more that I throw in a shoebox for good.

Last year I  did a project where I wrote a poem a day.  Some stuff I’m proud of came out of that (which I shared on this blog), but when I fell into a rut I stopped the writing. Now I’m restarting that project,  but with a twist. At least one poem a week is going to be a found poem.

If you aren’t familiar with what a found poem is,  it is taking words that you find (I usually clip from old magazines,  but you can copy them from signs and stuff too) and put them together in a poem.

Found poetry can be a lot of work,  but it has a huge benefit to my thinking and my writing.  I don’t get to to choose from my stagnated vocabulary – words I dint use often are at the forefront of these poems. I don’t get to be melodramatic because the words I find don’t fit that. Sure,  sometimes the lines sound a little choppy,  but that’s great too,  because I end up trying different rhythms.

If you’re struggling with your writing,  our need something to mix it up,  our just want to try something new – I recommend found poetry.

image

image

Take care,  fellow travelers.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

