A Writing Journey

Take a Breather

I’ve been having some pretty intense happenings in my life the past couple of weeks. And so I took a short writing break. I’m not one of those people who insists you must write a certain number of words or pages every single day. Heck, I don’t even think you need to write every day.

Scandalous, right?

But here is my reasoning:

If you force yourself to write when you a)are not feeling it, b)are stressed about other things, or c) are stuck with your project the writing WILL suffer and for most people, poor writing is a major emotional set back. I know when I have forced myself to write in the situations listed above and then come back to my writing* it distances me in a bad way and I stay away from writing for an even longer time.

I would like to point out:

When first beginning you have to sort of play around with your writing rhythm. I’m talking about when you write, not how you write. When I was a kid I was a “write all the timer” with no breaks and no time to breathe (or let my writing/creativity breathe. I got older and I was a “write when you’re inspired gal.” I know many people curse the “inspired” thing – but from my experience that is where the best writing comes from and (honestly!) nowadays whenever I write I am inspired, whether or not I was when I made the decision to sit down and write. Now I write when I feel ready (again, I know there are all those memes and quotes about not waiting until you are ready – they are great for beginners, and sometimes useful for others, but overall, a writer does have to be ready, they have to have thought about what they’re going to write and be ready to write it) and when that happens, I feel good about it and can write (sometimes) for hours.

So no, I don’t write every day. What I do is think about writing every day. Most of the time I think about my current project (Lacey and her adventures) but I also think about other ideas (most which I doubt will be developed into anything concrete).

Don’t take anyone’s word as absolute truth. I don’t care if it is your favorite author, one of those “great” authors, your English professor, or me. Find what works for you and do that. If it doesn’t fit what you are told is “right,” just remember that when it comes to creativity there is no right way to do things, so long as they get done!

-Emily

*I’ll admit it doesn’t always go this way. Sometimes I still write something worth using.

Comments on: "Take a Breather" (1)

  1. Reblogged this on Smile Circulation and commented:
    Reminder to find your own way…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

