A Writing Journey

Transcribing

The major downfall of handwriting all my drafts: transcribing them. I hate typing, have almost since I learned to do it. It’s not that I’m a bad typist (though I don’t have the “correct” form – I am able to type without looking at the keyboard though, so I don’t care if my form is correct or not (honestly, did you think I would, I think I’ve made it pretty clear that I’m not always a rule-girl!)). Mostly it is that typing for long periods of time makes either my hands or wrists hurt, and always this one spot in my shoulder muscle. Very unpleasant. Plus I just hate the posture it puts my body in. All around, typing is uncomfortable for me (probably part of what drives me to hand-write everything in the first place).

So it’s probably no surprise to you that I haven’t typed anymore of SOTD since my last update. It is still sitting in my desk drawer, patiently waiting while I pretend not to notice that nagging need to get it in a less-losable form. I have, however, continued to work on book three. I’m on the third chapter now, and feeling good. I’ll be excited to tell you more about books two and three one of these days. Though in all fairness I’m waiting largely because QFS is in submission, and I want to get that out to you before I start going into books two and three (spoilers, you know?).

Anyway, it’s going to be my goal this week to type some more, but we’ll see how that goes! If nothing else, at least I am writing!

(In other news, I’m about halfway through Marie Brennan’s book The Tropic of Serpents, the sequel to A Natural History of Dragons. I’m trying to take book two slower because it might be a little while before I can get my hands on book 3 of that series. And it’s a great one to read slowly – though I’ll be honest, today I devoured about a fourth of the thing.)

-Emily

Comments on: "Transcribing" (1)

  1. I have that issue too – typing hurts my shoulder and neck and gives me headaches (I do it anyway). Transcribing drafts though..I find they get better when I type them out, as I sort of revise them and add bits and so on. Though it’s easier for me to be creative when I’m handwriting.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

