A Writing Journey

October is here, and looming ever nearer is November. We all know what that means: NaNoWriMo. An entire novel in one month. Maybe the thought is overwhelming, pushing you down into doubt and despair. Maybe it lifts you up and fills you with excitement and enthusiasm. Either way, you might be wondering how to get started in preparing for NaNo.

Fear not! I’ll take you through my journey as I prepare for NaNo, and share with you the tips that take me from group one (the anxiety-ridden group) to something closer to group two (the excited one).

So what’s the first thing to do? I made a list of everything I think I should be doing, and number one is spread the word.

Huh? That doesn’t have anything to do with writing! Maybe not the physical act, but it has everything to do with making time for yourself to write, and to make sure you get your butt in whatever chair you choose (or, if you’re like me, sometimes walking and typing on a phone app) and get that novel written. There are two key factors that accomplish this:

1 – Accountability. You’ve just told who knows how many people that you are participating in NaNo – do you really want to tell them that you quit? (I know from first-hand experience how bitter that acknowledgement tastes.) I won’t go into all the implications of quitting – some of them might not be true for you! – but I will say that it doesn’t feel good.

2 – You’ve just told everybody that you will be writing 50,000 words in 30 days. Hopefully that will get them to back off and respect your time. If not, I’d say you are fully justified in ignoring them if you want! (After all, you did warn them.)

Okay, so who do we need to tell, and what’s the best way to do it? Well, I blog, so obviously I’m telling all of you. Also friends and family, maybe even let work acquaintances know so that maybe they don’t bug you to sub shifts or whatever. How you want to tell people is up to you. Maybe a facebook announcement. Maybe casual mentions. Maybe a text. Whatever, up to you. Just make sure you let people know!

Next time: Rumination

Comments on: "NaNo Prep: Where do I Start?" (1)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

