A Writing Journey

NaNo Prep: The Medium

Paper, phone app, pencil, pen, Word, Scrivener. We have a lot of choices when it comes to what medium we use for writing. I know plenty of people (myself included) who like to handwrite everything before transcribing it onto the computer. I also know that (it would seem) the majority of writers type their first drafts.

Most of the time, it doesn’t matter one way or the other. And to be fair, it still comes down to personal preference. HOWEVER. When writing for NaNo, we must keep track of our word count, and that is easier with a computer or phone based system. Sure, we could count the the words we write, even count a few pages and do some quick math with averages and multiplying, but that would take an excessive amount of time. We could transcribe everything, essentially doubling our time working on the book, but we’re already pressed for time.

For these reasons I highly suggest typing from the start, because it will make the process smoother. I plan on using google docs because I can access it from any computer, and from my phone. That way I can write during down time when I’m out as well as during my designated writing times.

Whatever you choose, though, is perfect for you.

Next time: Keep Reading

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

The Crafty Mummy

DIY, Crafts and Handmade

