A Writing Journey

A couple of weeks ago my boyfriend introduced me to SimCity. It took an hour for me to get hooked, and for a week I played every chance I got. My cities are pretty awesome. He suggested that we should get the Sims (he first brought this up a little over a year ago, when I gushed over how cool it was that you can have your character in Pokemon X change clothes). We agreed for budget reasons that we would complete a Great Work in our SimCity region BEFORE we got the Sims.

But it was on sale over the weekend. And so I got the Sims.

Now, my first couple hours were spent designing my ideal “me” and my boyfriend (because that’s what you do with the Sims, is it not?). And of course my character aspires to be a bestselling author. And how does she do that? Write every day.

This, in and of itself, has inspired me to get more writing done. I gave myself the task of writing for 1/2 hour every day.

Why only a half hour? Well that’s the time management part. When you see virtual you struggling to get everything done that she needs to and still take care of herself, you realize how much time you waste and/or just don’t have. So I am much more attuned to what I have time for, how much time I have, and the most important things to do. I have a lot to accomplish in a day, from basic tasks like making the bed or showering to steps on the path towards accomplishing goals (like staining the boards for a bookshelf, or writing every day). I just can’t fit in everything every day at the amounts I would like – plus I probably don’t have the energy for such an endeavor. But I can take small chunks of time that would otherwise be spent aimlessly wandering the house (like the 20 minutes between being ready for work and going to work) and use them for something productive.

It also helps to have goals and action steps posted above my desk for easy referral.

With this diligence, the next book should be ready to go before long!

Take care!

Emily

Comments on: "The Sims – Inspiring Creativity and Time Management" (2)

  1. juliet835 said:

    I got addicted to sims freeplay for a couple years. I finally stopped a few months ago. I realized I could be a lot more productive in my own life then the lives of virtual characters

    • Very true – I think there is definitely a level to having a little bit of de-stress time with a game like this – but it truly encourages me to get things done in my own life. I can only play for about 15 minutes before I am ready to do “real” things – the things my virtual counterparts are getting done so quickly!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Threadwinners

A Crochet Collaborative

Quiet Water Craft

Official crafty blog for my Quiet Water Craft Etsy shop

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Crafty Musings

A Crochet Blog

Panda Gets Crafty

Crochet. Knit. Needle felt. Cross stitch.

my world of crocheting

"And presently I was driving through the drizzle of the dying day, with the windshield wipers in full action but unable to cope with my tears."

Masala Vegan

Plant based cruelty free recipes for cooking, baking and living from India and beyond!

Flourish & Knot

Handmade Living - Budget Decorating, DIY & Craft Tutorials, Sewing, Flower Arrangement Tutorials - Montreal, Canada DIY blog

Elephants Hankie Blog

Question everything, Explore Life, create wonder.

Crochet by Wendy

Handmade Crochet Items, Gifts and Accessories

Crochet539

Handmade, Festive Adornments

Amanda Crochets

Handmade with Love

Lime Green Lady

Crafting chatter with patterns, projects and photos.

